More slippers!

Husband worked last night, so I did the super lazy thing and steamed some dim sims for dinner and sat down to work on a new pair of slippers.

I was stoked that I could get them done in a night, and that means that tonight I might also get the pair done for my aunt so I don’t have any distractions on the weekend when I want to try to learn to use this sewing machine. (I think I am going to need to set my laptop up alongside me and watch youtube videos as I go….)

I also found out that Big W has yarn and sewing supplies, so that was pretty cool. I bought four balls of this cute white & rainbow yarn… and I need to stop doing that because I have enough. So many projects, not enough time, but I was figuring with silver thread the yarn would be an awesome colour to make another of these Sophiette tops out of (no progress on that by the way, I have been working on slippers again).

I have rheumatoid arthritis, so sometimes that can get in the way of these projects. Last night the slippers took a bit longer than normal as I had to keeping stopping to stretch my fingers out, as I think I hold my hands in an unusual way when I hold the shoe base and the bit I am working on. Who knows, but I remember why I don’t do the shoes that often now.

I am proud I can do these without checking the pattern now, and I have almost mastered the cotton Bendigo Woolen Mills yarn. It’s much nicer than the pair that I have. I will make a couple of new pairs for myself with the cotton, I have pink and maroon and a few things that I can use for mine. Not that there is anything wrong with my purple pair, they are still super comfy, just this yarn is much cleaner and easier to work with than the crap acrylic stuff.

I have a four day weekend this weekend, we have a holiday for a horse race Tuesday, and I am taking Monday off to make it a long weekend. It’s not going to be as fun as it sounds though because Husband will have to work 3 of the 4 days, but never mind. Means I get some quiet time with the puppies and the sewing machine. They will most likely just sleep beside me while I make a mess of stuff.

Leave a Reply

